Connected Community


Connected Community

July 23, 2021

Inspiring Women of CGGS

Last week we were so thrilled to be able to host the Inaugural Inspiring Women Ceremony at school to officially honour our 18 inspiring women.

The Inspiring Women program established in our Centenary year was designed to acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding contribution made by women affiliated with Camberwell Girls Grammar School since its inception. Our intention is to honour women each year, with 100 honourees in total to acknowledge the 100 year history of the school.

Below is a list of the inspiring women honoured and their graduating year.


Ms Sarah Boyd (1998)

Prof Louise Brearley Messer AM (1957)

Ms Linda Bull (1985)

Ms Vika Bull (1983)

Colonel Michelle Campbell (1988)

Dr Evelyn Chan (2003)

Mrs Roma Drummond OAM (1943)

Dr Jackie Graham (1989)

Ms Frankie Layton (2006)

Mrs Bronwyn Lincoln (1981)

Ms Emma Race (1993)

Mrs Wendy Rainbird (1959)

Dr Julia Rhyder (2005)

Miss Margaret Schofield OAM (posthumous) (1931)

Ms Kate Sommerville (1988)

Mrs Jenny Vadiveloo (1982)

Mrs Noel Waite AO (1945)

The Reverend Doctor Raewynne J. Whiteley (1984)


Our CGGS Inspiring Women honourees will serve as a reminder of the inspiring women connected to the school and their profiles will inspire our current students. Their biographies now hang on a prominent wall at the school for all to see.

We congratulate our inaugural Inspiring Women.

The 2021 honourees will be announced shortly, to read more about the women honoured for 2020 and to nomination for 2022 click the button below.

Event Postponement

Due to the current lockdown and Covid-19 restrictions, we have made the difficult decision to postpone the CGGS Centenary Gala.

While we know this is disappointing, especially for those who purchased tickets, we hope you understand this is a necessary step to help keep each other safe in these unprecedented times. Ticket holders have received an email today with details regarding refunds.

We will reschedule this event to take place in 2022 and will communicate a new date.

We’d like to thank all our silent auction supporters who came forward to help create what would have been a fantastic evening, they are listed below.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Kate Daffy in the school’s Foundation Office.

Kate Daffy
Community Programs & Events Coordinator